Mount Mercy juniors honored with college scholarships and awards

Mount Mercy Academy held its annual fourth quarter honors assembly last week. Students were recognized for their contributions to the music department and other school organizations. Highlighting the assembly was the announcements by the guidance department of the members of the junior class who were awarded scholarships to specific colleges and national organizations. The students will be awarded a scholarship to that college, contingent on the student’s attendance at that school. Nominations are based on numerous factors such as academic achievements, leadership qualities, community involvement and standardized test scores, as well as faculty recommendations.

The University of Rochester’s George Eastman Kodak Young Leaders Award was presented to Emily Lewandowski of East Aurora. The award is given to a junior who displays strong leadership skills, is receiving excellent grades in a challenging curriculum, and participates in and shows dedication to varied, extensive and time-consuming extracurricular activities.

Mary Barnes of Fredonia was given the University of Rochester’s Xerox Award for Innovative and Information Technology. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in the pursuit of innovative approaches and an appreciation for the possibilities of technology.

The University of Rochester’s Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award was awarded to Mary Bala of West Seneca. The award is presented to a student for her outstanding academic achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science. 

Julia Khoury of Buffalo was the recipient of the University of Rochester’s Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and the Social Sciences. This award recognizes a student who demonstrates a commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues and is dedicated to continuing her unfinished life’s work. Equal emphasis on study, community action and dialogue is encouraged. 

Clarkson University recognizes high school juniors that demonstrate strong leadership qualities, outstanding academic achievement, have made positive contributions to school and community, and have expressed an interest in the fields of science, engineering or business. Hannah Bray of West Seneca earned the Clarkson University School Leadership Award and Elizabeth Pantano of West Seneca received the Clarkson University School Achievement Award. The Clarkson University School Scholars Award was presented to Naomi Parisi of Buffalo.

Abigail Hillery of Hamburg was honored with the Rochester Institute of Technology’s Computing Medal Award. The award is given to a high school junior based on her accomplishments as a student, her involvement as a member of the school and community, and her commendable computing abilities.

The Rochester Institute of Technology also recognizes a student who has not only attained outstanding academic achievement, but has also shown exceptional creativity and innovation in doing so. Phoebe Palmisano of Buffalo received this award.

The Niagara University St. Vincent de Paul Medal is awarded to a student who exhibits compassion for peers, initiative, empathy for those less fortunate, humility and leadership in the community. This year’s medal recipient was Emily Michalski of Buffalo.

Alexis Sandor of Buffalo was given the St. Michael’s College Book Award. St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vermont, grants this award to a student who has demonstrated a sustained and sincere commitment to scholarship, volunteerism and leadership within her community. It recognizes an individual who believes in serving others as an extension of her Catholic faith.

The Elmira College Key Award was presented to JuliaMaria Acosta of Buffalo in recognition of exceptional scholastic achievement, leadership, citizenship and participation in extracurricular activities. This individual excels in all areas, is a true role model and exhibits qualities which may be seen as the “key” to success.

Abigail Swiger of Lackawanna received the 2017 Student Sage Recognition Nomination. The award was created to recognize the characteristics of academic excellence and community involvement that have defined Sage students for nearly a century. The recipients embody the Sage motto of “To Be, To Know, To Do” through their achievements and involvement and in doing so, bringing well-earned recognition to the learning community at Mount Mercy Academy. 

The Randolph College Book Award was awarded to Olivia Cudney of Buffalo based on her achievements in academic excellence and her potential. 

LeMoyne College gives their annual Heights Award that recognizes a student who is “Reaching for the Heights” in the classroom and in service to her school and community.  This award honors the student’s commitment to academic excellence, leadership and service. This year’s recipient was Paris Green of East Aurora. 

Keuka College’s George H. Ball Community Achievement Award was given to Megan Michalski of Buffalo, a student who has qualities that embody the values of Keuka College, including integrity, academic excellence, diversity, leadership, service and social responsibility. 

Lawrence Technological University in Southfield, Michigan, offers the Award for Excellence in Science and Mathematics that is given to a student who has attained outstanding academic achievement in the sciences and mathematics. This individual must also be an active and responsible citizen of the school and community. Allison Rogowski of West Seneca received this award.

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy awards their Rensselaer Medal to a student who excels in advanced math and science courses and exhibits significant interest and involvement in extracurricular activities. This year the medal was awarded to Shea Halpenny of Lackawanna.

Wells College in Aurora awards their 21st Century Leadership Award to a student who embodies the spirit of sincerity and the intellectual qualities of a strong leader in her school and community activities. Catherine Roth of Fredonia has demonstrated superior integrity, trustworthiness, self-confidence and intellect while possessing the characteristics of the highest form of ethical leadership. 

Be the first to comment on "Mount Mercy juniors honored with college scholarships and awards"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: