Buffalo Bandits announce 2017 roster

Buffalo Bandits General Manager Steve Dietrich today announced the team’s 20-man roster for the beginning of the 2017 season.

The side is highlighted by the return of the NLL’s reigning Most Valuable Player, Dhane Smith. Smith, who broke the NLL record for goals and points last year, will be joined by the rest of the team’s top seven leaders in scoring from last season. Joining the team for his first year with the Bandits is last year’s NLL Transition Player of the Year, Brad Self. Team captain Billy Dee Smith returns to the squad for his 15th season with the organization.

“It was a very competitive camp and we have placed some good young players on our practice roster, but we return pretty much the same group from last year,” Dietrich said. “The mood of camp was that of a team with unfinished business and we feel this group gives us a chance to compete for a championship once again.” 

To reduce the roster to 20 players, the team placed Adam Will, Craig England and Bryce Brochu on injured reserve. The team also assigned Tim Edwards, Justin Martin, Kevin Orleman and Blaze Riorden to the practice squad. 

The roster breakdown includes the following:
Forwards (7): Ryan Benesch, Mitch Jones, Anthony Malcom, Craig Point, Dhane Smith, Mark Steenhuis, Daryl Veltman.
Transition (4): Kevin Brownell, Alex Kedoh Hill, Brad Self, Mitch Wilde.
Defensemen (7): Matthew Bennett, David Brock, Mitch de Snoo, Steve Priolo, Billy Dee Smith, Andrew Watt, Nick Weiss.
Goalies (2): Anthony Cosmo, Davide Diruscio.
Practice Squad (4): Tim Edwards, Justin Martin, Kevin Orleman, Blaze Riorden.
Injured Reserve (3): Bryce Brochu, Craig England, Adam Will.

Be the first to comment on "Buffalo Bandits announce 2017 roster"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.