Mount Mercy Academy juniors honored with scholarships and awards

Madison Edwards and her parents celebrate her award.Madison Edwards and her parents celebrate her award.

Mount Mercy Academy had its annual fourth quarter honors assembly last week where students were recognized for their contributions to various school organizations. Highlighting the assembly was the announcements by the guidance department of the members of the junior class who were awarded scholarships to specific colleges and national organizations. The students will be awarded a scholarship to that college contingent on attendance at that school.  Nominations are based on numerous factors, such as academic achievements, leadership qualities, community involvement and standardized test scores, as well as faculty recommendations.

The University of Rochester’s George Eastman Kodak Young Leaders Award was presented to Aubrey Monaco of Buffalo. The award is given to a junior who displays strong leadership skills, is receiving excellent grades in a challenging curriculum, and participates in and shows dedication to varied, extensive, and time-consuming extracurricular activities.

Natalie Radwan of West Seneca was given the University of Rochester’s Xerox Award for Innovative and Information Technology. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in the pursuit of innovative approaches and an appreciation for the possibilities of technology. 

The University of Rochester’s Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award was awarded to Annie Bernard of Orchard Park. The award is presented to a student for her outstanding academic achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science.

Adrianna Awald of Gowanda was the recipient of the University of Rochester’s Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and the Social Sciences. This award recognizes a student who demonstrates a commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues and is dedicated to continuing her unfinished life’s work. Equal emphasis on study, community action, and dialogue is encouraged.  

Clarkson University recognizes high school juniors that demonstrate strong leadership qualities, outstanding academic achievement, have made positive contributions to our school and community, and have expressed an interest in the fields of science, engineering, or business. Elisabeth Radwan of West Seneca earned the Clarkson University School Leadership Award and Mary Vattes of Buffalo received the Clarkson University School Achievement Award.

Melina Courtney of Elma was honored with the Rochester Institute of Technology’s Computing Medal Award. The award is given to a high school junior based on her accomplishments as a student, her involvement as a member of the school and community and her commendable computing abilities.

The Rochester Institute of Technology also recognizes a student who has not only attained outstanding academic achievement, but has also shown exceptional creativity and innovation in doing so. Grace Spero of Buffalo received this award.

The Niagara University St. Vincent de Paul Medal is awarded to a student who exhibits compassion for peers, initiative, empathy for those less fortunate, humility, and leadership in the community. This year’s medal recipient was Camryn Stockinger of Buffalo.

Marissa Kurucz of West Seneca was given the St. Michael’s College Book Award. St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vermont, grants this award to a student who has demonstrated a sustained and sincere commitment to scholarship, volunteerism, and leadership within her community. It recognizes an individual who believes in serving others as an extension of her Catholic faith. 

The Elmira College Key award was presented to Samantha Crowe of Eden in recognition of exceptional scholastic achievement, leadership, citizenship, and participation in extracurricular activities. This individual excels in all areas, is a true role model, and exhibits qualities which may be seen as the “key” to success. 

The Randolph College Book Award was awarded to Estella Estus of South Dayton based on her achievements in academic excellence and her leadership potential.   

Keuka College’s George H. Ball Community Achievement Award was given to Madison Edwards of Buffalo, a student who has qualities that embody the values of Keuka College, including integrity, academic excellence, diversity, leadership, service and social responsibility.  

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York awards their Rensselaer Medal to a student who excels in advanced math and science courses and exhibits significant interest and involvement in extracurricular activities. This year the medal was awarded to Sydney Gunner of East Aurora. 

Wells College in Aurora, New York awards their 21st Century Leadership Award to students who embody the spirit of sincerity and intellectual qualities of a strong leader in her school and community activities. Amaya Milkowski of Buffalo has demonstrated superior integrity, trustworthiness, self-confidence and intellect, while possessing the characteristics of the highest form of ethical leadership.  

Chatham University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania offers their Rachel Carson Healthy Planet Award and Scholarship to a high school junior who shows leadership and passion for sustainability and the environment, social justice and policy studies, or an interest in writing and the sciences. The scholarship was given to Sydney Ardanuy of Buffalo.

The LeMoyne College Heights Award recognizes a high school junior who is “reaching for the heights” in the classroom and in service to her school and community. This award is intended to help promote and recognize academic achievement, service, and leadership, which are important aspect of the tradition at LeMoyne College. Cassidy Reid of Gowanda received this award.

Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio is offering a new scholarship to a student who is academically talented, is a leader in the school community, practices higher thinking and aspires greatness. The Xavier University Distinguished Scholar Award was given to Dominique Khoury of Buffalo.

Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania offered their Colonel Emerging Leader Award to a student with academic and leadership potential. This year’s recipient was Mya Wood of Blasdell. 

Senator Timothy M. Kennedy of New York State’s 63rd District requested nominations for the New York State Senate Youth Leadership Recognition Awards. These awards recognize juniors for their achievements in academics, athletics, and community service and the great work they do to benefit their communities. Gunner was honored for Excellence in Academics, Wood for Excellence in Athletics, Ardanuy for Excellence in the arts and Awald for Excellence in Community Service.

Be the first to comment on "Mount Mercy Academy juniors honored with scholarships and awards"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.