Tavares, Kelusky and Sanderson win induction into NLL Hall of Fame

The National Lacrosse League announced that John Tavares, Tracey Kelusky and Josh Sanderson have been voted into the NLL Hall of Fame as the Class of 2016. The trio of inductees, which marks the league’s largest member class since 2010, will be enshrined at the NLL Hall of Fame Ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 27 at Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville, Ont.

“It’s really an incredible statement and testament to the staying power of our players and league when this outstanding trio get inducted into the National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame and all continue to work as executives in our league,” said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz. “Tracey Kelusky, Josh Sanderson and John Tavares were all dynamic players on the floor, and they continue to serve the National Lacrosse League in their post-playing careers as coaches and team executives. It’s an honor and very important to have former players find post-playing careers with our league and each of these men have made immeasurable contributions to the sport, and continue to do so in guiding the next generation of NLL players. It’s fitting that each will now be forever immortalized in the NLL Hall of Fame.”

Tavares played an NLL-record 24 seasons in the league, all with Buffalo (1992-2015). He retired as the NLL’s all-time leader in games played (306), goals (815), assists (934) and points (1,749), and ranked second in loose balls (2,169). Tavares is a four-time Champion’s Cup winner (1992-1993, 1996 & 2008) and leads the NLL all-time playoff list in games played (38), goals (84), assists (116) and points (200). He scored 30 or more goals in 16 seasons and had 80 or more points in 12 seasons, including 10 straight years from 2000 to 2009, with four 100-plus point campaigns. The three-time NLL Most Valuable Player (1994, 2000 & 2001) was named NLL All-Pro a league-record 19 times (1993-2009 & 2011-2012).

Kelusky played 14 seasons in the league with Calgary (2003-2010), where he served as team captain and won two Champion’s Cups (2004 & 2009). He also played in Columbus (2001), Montreal (2002), Buffalo (2011-2013) and Philadelphia (2014). He retired with the 11th most goals (383) and points (823) in league history and 13th most games played (195) along with 886 loose balls. He won the 2001 NLL Rookie of the Year Award and 2007 Sportsmanship Award. The five-time All-Pro (2001-2005) forward ranks 10th all-time in NLL career playoff goals (37). He finished his career second in Roughnecks franchise history in goals, assists and points and had 50 or more points in 10 of his 14 seasons in the league.

Sanderson spent 19 seasons in the league with Toronto (2005-2008 & 2012-2016), Rochester (1998-1999), Albany (2000-2003), San Jose (2004), Calgary (2008-2010) and Boston (2011). He won two Champion’s Cups (2005 & 2009) and retired fourth in NLL career scoring with 1,357 points (449+908).